About Us
Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
About Us
Share |

VA Gifted was founded in 1977 to support gifted education. We organize a statewide conference in odd numbered years; organize a statewide seminar in even numbered years; support research in gifted education; support specialized professional preparation for educators of the gifted; and recognize outstanding educators for their contributions to gifted learners. Membership is open to individuals who are interested in the education of the gifted.

 

OUR VISION:

 

The Virginia Association for the Gifted and its members connect and empower parents, students, and educators to be active and innovative advocates for appropriate instruction, services, and opportunities for gifted and talented learners.

 

OUR MISSION:

 

The Virginia Association for the Gifted is comprised of a network of educators, parents, and community members, guided by current research, who work collaboratively to advocate for the needs of gifted and talented learners. The association provides resources, information, and professional development to improve the quality of education in the Commonwealth.

 

Virginia Association for the Gifted Bylaws  

 

Virginia Association for the Gifted - Five Year Strategic Plan, 2013-2018

 

Virginia Association for the Gifted Board Members:

 

Mrs. Donna Brearley, President

Alexandria City Public Schools

703-619-8024

Frances.Brearley@acps.k12.va.us

 

Dr. Wendy King, President Elect

Loudoun County Public Schools

Wendy.King@lcps.org

 

Ms. Dornswalo Wilkins-McCorey, Vice President

Virginia Beach City Public Schools

domwilki@vbschools.com

 

Dr. Melissa Sullivan, Secretary

Virginia Beach City Public Schools

melissa.sullivan@vbschools.com

 

Cheryl McCullough, Past President

Arlington Public School

cheryl.mccullough@apsva.us

 

Karen Duby, Executive Director

540-522-1294
director@vagifted.org

 


Professional Region I

Janet Nowlin           

JLNowlin@henrico.k12.va.us

 

Parent Region I

Christina Turner

cturner1812@yahoo.com

 

Professional Region II

Sarah Haywood

shaywood2@ycsd.york.va.us

 

Parent Region II

Andrea Hall-Leaonard

aghleonard@gmail.com

 

Professional Region III

Rob Wright          
wrightir@wmlcps.org

 

Parent Region III

Karen Camlin

kcamlin@cbschools.net

 

Professional Region IV E

 

 

Parent Region IV E

 

 

Professional Region IV W
Virginia Brown

vbrown@FCPS1.org

 

Parent IV W

            

 

Professional Region V

Heather Boyles

bollinghr@lcsedu.net

  

Parent Region V

Laura Bridge             
lbridge@apps.fluco.org

 

Professional Region VI

Jodie Robinson              

Jodie.Robinson@frco.k12.va.us

 

Parent Region VI

 

 

Professional Region VII

Sheila Ingram         

singram@tazewell.k12.va.us

  

Parent Region VII

Maria White             

mwhite@tazewell.k12.va.us

 

Professional Region VIII

Andrea Shell             

Shell.Andrea@nottowayschools.org

 

Parent Region VIII

Gail Staton           
grichard@gcps1.com

 

College of William & Mary

Mihyeon Kim             
mxkim3@wm.edu

 

University of Virginia

Christina Amspaugh             
amspaugh@virginia.edu

 

Virginia Consortium for Gifted

Sarah Haywood             
shaywood2@ycsd.york.va.us

 

Virginia Department of Education

Donna Poland              
Donna.Poland@doe.virginia.gov



Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal