About Us
Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
About Us
Share |

VA Gifted was founded in 1977 to support gifted education. We organize a statewide conference in odd numbered years; organize a statewide seminar in even numbered years; support research in gifted education; support specialized professional preparation for educators of the gifted; and recognize outstanding educators for their contributions to gifted learners. Membership is open to individuals who are interested in the education of the gifted.

 

OUR VISION:

 

The Virginia Association for the Gifted and its members connect and empower parents, students, and educators to be active and innovative advocates for appropriate instruction, services, and opportunities for gifted and talented learners.

 

OUR MISSION:

 

The Virginia Association for the Gifted is comprised of a network of educators, parents, and community members, guided by current research, who work collaboratively to advocate for the needs of gifted and talented learners. The association provides resources, information, and professional development to improve the quality of education in the Commonwealth.

 

Virginia Association for the Gifted Bylaws  

 

Virginia Association for the Gifted - Five Year Strategic Plan, 2013-2018

 

Virginia Association for the Gifted Board Members:

 

Wendy King, President

Loudoun County Public Schools 

Wendy.King@lcps.org

 

Dornswalo (Dorn) Wilkins-McCorey, President Elect

Virginia Beach City Public Schools

domwilki@vbschools.com

 

Melissa (Missy) Sullivan, Vice President

Virginia Beach City Public Schools

melissa.sullivan@vbschools.com

 

Laura Kelly, Vice President Elect

Roanoke City Public Schools

lkelly@rcps.info

 

Korri Garrett Williams, Secretary

Williamsburg-James City County Public Schools

Korri.Williams@wjccschools.org


Donna Brearley, Past President

Alexandria City Public School

Frances.Brearley@acps.k12.va.us

 

Karen Duby, Treasurer/Executive Director

540-522-1294
director@vagifted.org

 


 

Professional Region I Parent Region I

George Fohl Christina Turner

george_fohl@ccpsnet.net cturner1812@yahoo.com

 

 

Professional Region II Parent Region II

Sarah Haywood Andrea Hall-Leonard

shaywood2@ycsd.york.va.us                                        aghleonard@gmail.com

 

 

Professional Region III Parent Region III

Rob Wright           Amy Klontzaris
wrightjr@wmlcps.org                                                       aklontzaris@kqps.net

 

  

Professional Region IV E Parent Region IV E

Margot Dickey Laura Rose
medickey@fcps.edu roselauraw@yahoo.com

  

 

Professional Region IV  W Parent IV W

Morgan Occhuizzo

occhuizzom@wps.k12.va.us

 

 

Professional Region V Parent Region V

Laura Bridge   

   lbridge@apps.fluco.org

 

 

Professional Region VI Parent Region VI

Jodie Robinson               Liz Markham

Jodie.Robinson@frco.k12.va.us liz.markham@appleig.com

 

 

Professional Region VII Parent Region VII

Sheila Ingram        Maria White     

singram@tazewell.k12.va.us mwhite@tcpsva.org

  

 

Professional Region VIII Parent Region VIII

Gail Staton            
grichard@gcps1.com

 

  

Member-at-Large

 

Central Region

Shauna Mayo, Virginia State University

shaunasmayo@gmail.com

 

Northern Region

Karen Wright

kewright449@gmail.com

 

Coastal Region

 

Southwest Region


 

Universities & Other

 

College of William & Mary

Ashley Carpenter             
aycarpenter@wm.edu

 

University of Richmond

Susan Albaugh

salbaug2@richmond.edu 

 

University of Virginia

Christina Amspaugh             
amspaugh@virginia.edu

 

Virginia Consortium for Gifted

Sarah Haywood             
shaywood2@ycsd.york.va.us

 

Virginia Department of Education

Donna Poland              
Donna.Poland@doe.virginia.gov



Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal