About Us
Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
About Us
Share |

VAG was founded in 1977 to support gifted education. We publish periodic electronic newsletters; organize a statewide conference in odd numbered years; organize a statewide seminar in even numbered years; support research in gifted education; support specialized professional preparation for educators of the gifted; and recognize outstanding educators for their contributions to gifted learners. Membership is open to individuals who are interested in the education of the gifted.

 

OUR VISION:

 

The Virginia Association for the Gifted and its members connect and empower parents, students, and educators to be active and innovative advocates for appropriate instruction, services, and opportunities for gifted and talented learners.

 

OUR MISSION:

 

The Virginia Association for the Gifted is comprised of a network of educators, parents, and community members, guided by current research, who work collaboratively to advocate for the needs of gifted and talented learners. The association provides resources, information, and professional development to improve the quality of education in the Commonwealth.

 

Virginia Association for the Gifted Bylaws  

 

Virginia Association for the Gifted - Five Year Strategic Plan, 2013-2018

 

VAG OFFICERS:

 

Cheryl McCullough, President 
Arlington Public Schools 
(703) 288-6169 
cheryl.mccullough@apsva.us

Diane Naff, President-Elect
Montgomery County Public Schools
Work phone (540) 382-5100 x104
dnaff@mcps.org

Kirsten Maloney, Vice President 
Fairfax County Public Schools
(571) 423-4743
knmaloney@fcps.edu

Karen Duby, Treasurer
Parent Member 
(540) 422-7590
kduby@fcps1.org

Patty Haskins, Secretary 
Powhatan County Public Schools 
(804) 598-5782 ext. 127
Patty.Haskins@powhatan.k12.va.us


   
Parent Region I

 

Janet Nowlin           
Professional Region I

JLNowlin@henrico.k12.va.us

 

               
Parent Region II

 

Kelli Gillette               
Professional Region II
kgillett@southampton.k12.va.us

 

Karen Camlin              
Parent Region III
kcamlin@cbschools.net

 

Don Ashburn               
Professional Region III
dashburn@essex.k12.va.us

 

             
Parent Region IV E 

 

Donna Brearley              
Professional Region IV E
Frances.Brearley@acps.k12.va.us

 

Cathy Seal              
Parent Region IV W
sealc@clarke.k12.va.us

 

Ladona Gorham             
Professional Region IV W
lgorham@fcps1.org

 

Laura Bridge              
Parent Region V
lbridge@apps.fluco.org

 

Gail Collins              
Professional Region V
gcollins@harrisonburg.k12.va.us

 

Brenda Mash              
Parent Region VI
bmash@mcps.org

 

Jodie Robinson              
Professional Region VI

Jodie.Robinson@frco.k12.va.us 

 

Kellie Worrell               
Parent Region VII
brainstarsapp@gmail.com

 

Sheila Ingram         
Professional Region VII
singram@tazewell.k12.va.us

 

Gail Staton            
Parent Region VIII
grichard@gcps1.com

 

Andrea Shell             
Professional Region VIII
Shell.Andrea@nottowayschools.org

 

Mihyeon Kim              
College of William & Mary
mxkim3@wm.edu

 

Marguerite Brunner               
University of Virginia
mmb7zq@virginia.edu

 

Ruth Grillo              
VA Consortium for Gifted
rgrillo@hampton.k12.va.us

 

Donna Poland               
VA Department of Education
Donna.Poland@doe.virginia.gov
 

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal