About Us
Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
About Us
Share |

VAG was founded in 1977 to support gifted education. We organize a statewide conference in odd numbered years; organize a statewide seminar in even numbered years; support research in gifted education; support specialized professional preparation for educators of the gifted; and recognize outstanding educators for their contributions to gifted learners. Membership is open to individuals who are interested in the education of the gifted.

 

OUR VISION:

 

The Virginia Association for the Gifted and its members connect and empower parents, students, and educators to be active and innovative advocates for appropriate instruction, services, and opportunities for gifted and talented learners.

 

OUR MISSION:

 

The Virginia Association for the Gifted is comprised of a network of educators, parents, and community members, guided by current research, who work collaboratively to advocate for the needs of gifted and talented learners. The association provides resources, information, and professional development to improve the quality of education in the Commonwealth.

 

Virginia Association for the Gifted Bylaws  

 

Virginia Association for the Gifted - Five Year Strategic Plan, 2013-2018

 

VAG OFFICERS:

 

Cheryl McCullough, President 
Arlington Public Schools 
(703) 288-6169 
cheryl.mccullough@apsva.us

Diane Naff, President-Elect
Montgomery County Public Schools
Work phone (540) 382-5100 x104
dnaff@mcps.org

Kirsten Maloney, Vice President 
Fairfax County Public Schools
(571) 423-4743
knmaloney@fcps.edu

Karen Duby, Treasurer
Parent Member 
(540) 422-7590
kduby@fcps1.org

Patty Haskins, Secretary 
Powhatan County Public Schools 
(804) 598-5782 ext. 127
Patty.Haskins@powhatan.k12.va.us


Professional Region I

Janet Nowlin           

JLNowlin@henrico.k12.va.us

 

 

Parent Region I

 

 

Professional Region II

 Valerie Tuck
vstuck@nps.k12.va.us

 

 

Parent Region II

 

 

Professional Region III

Don Ashburn               
dashburn@essex.k12.va.us

 

 

Parent Region III

Karen Camlin

kcamlin@cbschools.net

 

 

Professional Region IV E

Donna Brearley             
Frances.Brearley@acps.k12.va.us

 

 

Parent Region IV E

 

 

Professional Region IV W

Ladona Gorham             
lgorham@fcps1.org

 

 

Parent IV W

Cathy Seal             
sealc@clarke.k12.va.us

 

 

Parent Region V

Laura Bridge             
lbridge@apps.fluco.org

 

 

Professional Region V

Heather Boyles

bollinghr@lcsedu.net 

 

 

Parent Region VI

Brenda Mash             
bmash@mcps.org

 

 

Professional Region VI

Jodie Robinson              

Jodie.Robinson@frco.k12.va.us 

 

 

Parent Region VII

Maria White             

mwhite@tazewell.k12.va.us

 

 

Professional Region VII

Sheila Ingram        
singram@tazewell.k12.va.us

 

 

Parent Region VIII

Gail Staton           
grichard@gcps1.com

 

 

Professional Region VIII

Andrea Shell            
Shell.Andrea@nottowayschools.org

 

 

College of William & Mary

Mihyeon Kim             
mxkim3@wm.edu

 

 

University of Virginia

Christina Amspaugh             
amspaugh@virginia.edu

 

 

Virginia Consortium for Gifted

Sarah Haywood             
shaywood2@ycsd.york.va.us

 

 

Virginia Department of Education

Donna Poland              
Donna.Poland@doe.virginia.gov



Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal